close icon


Winners of EDGE2024 Awards

We are delighted to announce the winners of the EDGE2024 Awards

Physical Category

Paisley Culture and Learning Hub – Paisley Central Library

Social Category

Manchester Libraries – Age Friendly Libraries

Digital Category

WelcoME at all libraries across Westminster City Libraries

Many congratulations to all our Winners and Finalists.


  • Show or sell benefits of library and information services to other sectors, organisations and communities
  • Demonstrate innovation and creativity
  • Increase participation
  • An authority may wish to enter all 3 categories, that’s great.
  • An authority may find their application could fit in one, two or three categories, it is fine to enter the same application in other categories.

The purpose of the awards is to recognise positive achievements and promote outstanding library-based initiatives which celebrate the value of libraries. The awards are free to enter.

Our judges are from an external source and each judge receives one category only and chooses the Finalist and the Winner of that category.

There will be three awards. The winners in each category will receive the EDGE2024 trophy (no financial reward) which will follow the format of the conference.

We don’t want the process to be cumbersome, so we are asking for some brief details.

We are looking for cutting-edge innovative projects around developments in the following categories:

Physical Category

1. Physical – buildings, layout, targeted spaces

Social Category

2. Social – Work involving communities or target groups, engagement or making a difference

Digital Category

3. Digital – Websites, apps, virtual library, digitisation

The awards are open to global applications. 

Finalists in each category will receive: –

1 x Complimentary 2 Day & Award dinner delegate package (normally £350) – accommodation is NOT included in this package.

The option to book 1 or more Full delegate package (2-day conference, awards dinner, overnight accommodation) at a discounted rate of £300 (normally £395), invoiced in advance.


If you have difficulty accessing the online form, I will accept your application in word format emailed directly to me using the same Awards guidelines as per the website.

Finalists will be announced 7th MARCH 2024 complimentary & discounted places must be booked by 11th March 2024.

    How we have been innovative max 100 words per question (4 questions)

    Benefits max 100 words per question (3 questions)

    Why we should win! Max 100 words per question (3 questions)

    1) Be honest about what you are good at and how you can demonstrate this to the judges.

    2) Remember that you must prove to the judges that you are the best organisation that entered the particular award or category in order to win.

    3) To impress the judges your entry must stand out. Talk is cheap, the judges will want to see proof of any claims you make about being the best, offering great service, value for money, being innovative etc, so be sure to provide that proof.

    4) The world is full of great ideas that sound good but didn’t work or make any money in reality. You must demonstrate that your idea or service has a market, that there is a demand from that market and that it is sustainable.

    5) Write in plain English and keep it simple.



    Physical Category

    Bannockburn Library and Makerspace – Stirling Libraries

    Social Category

    Ukrainian Refugee Support – Aberdeen Libraries

    Digital Category

    Library Lab Prototypes – Libraries Hacked

    Our judges for EDGE2023 were:-

    Mark Freeman – Physical Category

    Sean McNamara – Digital Category

    Evelyn Kilmurry – Social Category

    Our judges are leaders in their field of expertise and taking an active part in EDGE2023.

    Winners of EDGE2020 Awards

    Physical Section

    Community Hub Development Programme – Leeds Libraries

    Social Section

    Explore Labs – York Libraries & Archives

    Digital Section

    100% Digital Tablet Lending Scheme – Leeds Libraries 

    Winners for EDGE2019

    Winner Physical category –  Norwood Library & Picturehouse

    Winner Social category – – Redbridge Libraries with The Final Party

    Winner Digital category – Live Life, Aberdeenshire

    Winners for EDGE2018

    Winner Physical category – Redbridge Central Library with Transformation Project

    Winner Social Category – Glasgow Life with Financial Capability Project

    Winner Digital Category – South Lanarkshire Libraries with ActiveE

    Winners for EDGE2017

    Physical award winner is :-

    Library at Kelvin Hall: National library of Scotland

    Social Award winner is :-

    Digi-PALS, Glasgow Life 

    Digital Award winner is :-

    Digi Dabble, North Ayrshire

    WINNERS for EDGE2016 awards….

    Physical Category

    Barrhead Foundry Library & Sports Centre Intregration Project from East Renfrewshire Culture & Leisure Ltd.

    Social Category

    Stradbroke Library Post Office from Suffolk’s Libraries Industrial & Provident Society (Suffolk Libraries).

    Many congratulations to our winners.

    Many congratulations to our runners up.

    The Stromness Library and The Friends of Broughty Ferry.

    Winners EDGE2015

    From all the EDGE Team and our wonderful judges …

    Many congratulations to our winners.

    The Physical Category

    Manchester City Libraries – Central Library Transformation Project

    The Social Category

    Macmillan @ Glasgow Libraries – Volunteering Programme

    The Digital Category

    Manchester Central Library – Archives+

    EDGE2014 Winners

    The Physical Category

    Macmillan @ Glasgow Libraries

    The Social Category

    Dementia Awareness for Children, Stockton Library

    The Digital/Virtual Category

    Get Connected with Suffolk Libraries

    EDGE2013 Winners

    The Physical Category, sponsored by The Design Concept:

    London Borough of Southwark –

    Canada Water Library

    The Social Category, sponsored by Capita

    Northamptonshire Libraries –

    Enterprise Hubs

    The Virtual/Digital Category, Sponsored by BT Scotland

    The Publishers Association and The Reading Agency –

    Reading Partners Digital Skills Sharing Project

    The free and discounted places associated with the finalists in each category are NON Transferable and only apply to the year of the awards in which they are offered.

    Think you have what it takes?

    Let us reward you in style...

    Enter now!